New Jersey Real Estate Licensing

Real Estate Sales Academy has partnered with Kaplan Real Estate Education to provide New Jersey Salesperson and Broker licensing that fits your schedule.


  • Continuing Education

  • Professional Development


  • Continuing Education

  • Professional Development

New Jersey State Requirements

New Jersey  Real Estate Commission

20 West State Street
Trenton, NJ 08608

Phone: 609-292-7053



New Jersey Real Estate License: Salesperson

Requirements to Obtain a Salesperson License:

      • Be at least 18 years old
      • Be a U.S. Citizen or permanent resident alien
      • Provide proof of high school diploma or equivalent
      • Complete 75 hours of education at a licensed school by the New Jersey Real Estate Commission
      • Pass the State and National exams
      • Apply for license through a sponsoring real estate broker

New Jersey Real Estate License: Broker

Requirements to Obtain a Broker License:

      • Provide proof of high school diploma or equivalency
      • Complete 150 hours of Broker prelicense education
          • Applicants must complete a 90-hour general real estate course
          • Applicants must then complete two 30-hour courses on Agency/Ethics and Office Management and related topics
      • Applicants must be continually licensed as a real estate salesperson for the 3 years preceding the application
      • After submitting education certificates and a completed Experience Report for Broker Application form, the state will review. Once approved, the applicant will be mailed a Certificate of Examination Eligibility, which may be used to take the Broker Examination
      • Must be completed within one year of successful completion of Broker prelicense education

Salesperson & Broker Continuing Education

      • Licensees must take 12 hours of education. All Continuing Education is due by April 30th of the renewing year. At least 6 of the 12 credits must be obtained in Core Topics courses, with a mandatory two credit hours on Ethics [See N.J.A.C. 11:5-12.4]
      • Core Topics:
          • Agency
          • Disclosure
          • Legal Issues (i.e. listing agreements, contracts, leases, attorney review)
          • Ethics – mandatory 2 credit hours
          • Fair Housing and New Jersey Law Against Discrimination
          • State and Federal Environmental Laws/Regulations Pertaining to Real Estate
          • Legal Requirements regarding Escrow Monies and Financial Recordkeeping
          • Real Estate Licensee Safety
          • Real Estate Financial Literacy and Planning
      • Elective Topics:
          • Commercial Real Estate
          • Property Management
          • Seasonal Rentals
          • Real Estate Sales Full Disclosure Act and Real Estate Timeshare Act
          • Financing
          • Land Use
          • Real Estate Valuation
          • Foreclosure and Short-Sale Transactions
          • Specific Aspects of Residential Real Estate Transactions
      • All 12 credit hours for the current timeframe must be completed by April 30th. Any late submissions for Continuing Education will result in a $200 late CE fee.
      • Once education is completed, allow 10 business days before contacting the Commission to see if education has been reported.

New Jersey Real Estate Examinations

For any Salesperson Licensing questions, please contact PSI:

      • Phone: 800-733-9267